3rd Annual AACC Innovation Awards

The Annual Australia Day Gala

Saturday, January 19th, 2019

The Grand Ballroom, Fairmont Hotel, San Francisco

Proudly Supported by:

The Australia Day Gala is an annual event presented by the Australian American Chamber of Commerce in partnership with G’day USA. This uniquely Australian event is attended by San Francisco’s leading business and tech executives and provides an opportunity for networking while enjoying the best of Australian entertainment, food, and wine.

In 2019,  three Innovation Awards will be presented to an Australian and American company, and to an Individual who has shown a commitment to Australian Innovation. All will be considered to have exemplified innovation and advanced the environment and culture for innovation in Australia. These awards will be presented at the gala alongside the Ambassador Bill Lane “Spirit of Australia” Award.

There will be three categories open for nomination:

Australian Company based in the Bay Area

· Advance the environment and culture for innovation in Australia

· Company history that demonstrates excellence and proven impact in their market

· An innovation driven start-up with a connection to Australian

American Investor based in the Bay Area

· Set up a presence/expanded their presence in Australia in the past 12 months

· Brings new innovation to the Australian market

Australian Individual based in the Bay Area

· Advance the environment and culture for innovation in Australia

· Participation in an innovation-based business that demonstrates excellence in its field

· Proven impact in their field of work

Each applicant must clearly address the above criterion in no more than 1000 words. Entrants can attach photos, demos or prototypes with their entry. Entries can be self-nominated or nominated by a third party. Applicants are required to have a physical presence in the Bay Area.

Applications are to be submitted to the Australian American Chamber of Commerce via dawn@sfaussies.com for preliminary assessment by 5pm EST December 10th, 2018. The top 5 applications for each category will be submitted for final assessment to a panel of innovation experts.

Two tickets to the Australia Day Ball will be provided to the top 2 applications in each category. There will also be an opportunity for all applications to purchase of tickets.

Please don’t hesitate to contact Dawn Lillington, Executive Director of the Australian American Chamber of Commerce , via +1 415 485 6718 or dawn@sfaussies.com should you have any further questions.

2019 Distinguished Panel of Judges

Ms. Frances van Ruth - Acting Consul General / Senior Trade and Investment Commissioner, Austrade

Ms Susan Lucas-Conwell - Executive Vice President, CSIRO US

Ms. Vanessa Wilson, Pure Storage

Mr. Sam Chandler, CEO Nitro

Mr. Kurt Glaubitz, GM, Policy, Government & Public Affairs, Asia Pacific Exploration & Production at Chevron

Mr. Andrew Bolwell, Vice President and Chief Disrupter – Global Head of Technology Vision & HP Tech Ventures

Congratulations to:

2018 Recipients

Dr. Elizabeth Blaber (Individual)

Dr. Elizabeth Blaber is a Visiting Research Scientist at the Universities Space Research Association (USRA) and NASA Ames Research Center (ARC) in Moffett Field, California. Dr. Blaber represents the best of our young generation of scientists who has and will continue to make significant and innovative contributions to the advancement of space biology.

Bugcrowd (Australian Company)

Bugcrowd was founded in 2012 in Australia by Casey Ellis with the goal of connecting two groups who desperately need each other but have historically been terrible at getting along: hackers and organizations. Given the company’s rapid growth and the adoption of the model across verticals, it’s clear that Casey’s vision of using the collective force of tens of thousands of trusted researchers on an industry-leading platform to address vulnerabilities has had a proven impact.

DTex (US Company)

Australian Government, businesses and critical infrastructure organisations are desperately battling to protect the Australian people from cyber criminals and the growing risks associated with our digital world. With more than 17 years at the forefront of cybersecurity internationally, and a strong investment in fostering local talent, Dtex Systems is uniquely positioned to help Australia both grow as a global cyber security leader and defend against the insider threat.

2017 Recipients

Andrew Tanner (Individual)

A professional engineer with over a decade of experience in developing clean energy technologies, Andrew is currently spearheading the Business Development and Product Strategy at Geli (Growing Energy Labs Inc). In 2002, he was one of the founding team members of one of Australia’s biggest success in solar, Ausra, which they started in a garage in Sydney. As Project Engineer for the company, he based his working life in Singleton for four years to build Australia’s largest solar installation at the time (2005). This effort ultimately led to the largest Series A investment for a cleantech company in Silicon Valley ($50M) and eventual acquisition by AREVA for $300M.

Nuheara (Australian Company)

Nuheara was founded by two repeat Aussie entrepreneurs, David Cannington and Justin Miller, who have a background in commercializing Australia developed hearing and audio technology and taking it to the global market. Nuheara is their second hearing/audio technology company.

Nuheara is an excellent example of an Aussie technology startup that leverages a partnership with a leading Australian research organization (Curtin University) to develop and commercialize cutting edge technologies and to solve real problems in the global market. From offices in Perth and San Francisco, the team has taken an idea for a truly wireless, intelligent earbud to product in market in just two short years.

The AACC is a not for Profit 501(c) 6 Chamber organization. Fed ID Number 94-2796045 

Contact us at Chamber@sfaussies.com 

PO Box 471285 San Francisco CA 94147

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software